Search

Search Help
Back

Collection Description

Collection name Bury Musical Society
Unique identifier MR455.c.80.1
Description Single bound volume containing programmes of the Bury Musical Society from February 23 1829 - December 7 1832.
Published: Bury St. Edmunds : Printed by T.C. Newby, 1829 - 32.

Programmes contain words of the vocal items, no performers mentioned and no detail about instrumental and orchestral works performed other than composer's name and form of work. A handwritten index of first lines of the vocal pieces written on a single folded sheet of the concert for 27 February 1832 is included. Flyleaf inscribed: Edward Charles Thomas 1833.

Contents:
On Monday, February 23, 1829 -- Sacred music, Monday, the ninth day of March, 1829 -- Selection from the Messiah : Monday, March 13, 1829 -- Monday, April 27, 1829 -- Monday, May 11, 1829 -- Miscellaneous concert :Monday, May 25, 1829 -- Monday, June 8, 1829 -- Sacred music : Monday, September 14, 1829 -- Monady, September 21st, 1829 -- Sacred music : Monday, October 5, 1829 --Miscellaneous music : Monday, November 9, 1829 -- Sacred music : Monday, November 29, 1829 -- Monday, December the 7th, 1829. Miscellaneous music. Monday, February 8, 1830 -- Miscellaneous music. Monday, February 22, 1830 -- Sacred music. Monday, March 8, 1830 -- Monday, May 3rd, 1830 -- Monday, May 17, 1830 -- Monday, May 31, 1830 -- Monday, June 14, 1830 -- Monday, August 30, 1830 -- Monday, September 13, 1830 -- Monday, October 4, 1830 -- Monday, November 22, 1830 -- Monday, December 13, 1830. Monday, January 31st, 1831 -- Monday, February 14, 1831 -- Monday, February 28, 1831. Sacred music -- Monday, March 14, 1831 -- Monday, March 28, 1831. Sacred music -- Monday, April 18, 1831 -- Monday, May 9th, 1831. Sacred music -- Monday, May 30th, 1831 -- Concert for the benefit of the distressed Irish. Tuesday, June 28, 1831 -- Monday, August 29th, 1831 -- Monday, September 19th, 1831 -- Monday, October 10th, 1831. Sacred music -- Monday, November 28th, 1831 -- Monday, December 12th, 1831. Monday, February 6th, 1832 -- Monday, February 27th, 1832 -- Monday, March 19th, 1832. Sacred music -- Monday, April 9th, 1832. Sacred music -- Monday, May 7th, 1832 -- Monday, May 28th, 1832 -- Monday, June 11th, 1832 -- Monday, August 27th, 1832. Sacred music -- Friday, October 5th, 1832 --Friday, October 19th, 1832 -- Friday, November 10th, 1832 -- Friday, December 7th, 1832.

Location: UL: Order in Anderson Room (Not borrowable)
Classmark: MR455.c.80.1

Date range -
Associated People and Organisations Bury Musical Society -
Associated Places Bury St. Edmunds
Associated Times 19th century - early 1800-1836
Associated Content
Star Item(s)
Strength(s)
Further details
Viewing the Collection
Visiting information

Location details

Cambridge University Library, Music Department

West Road Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom Open Map
DOMUS
Website http://www.lib.cam.ac.uk/Departments/Music/
Email
Telephone
Fax
Building Information
Collections Overview
Display Overview
Star Objects
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Accrual Status
Legal Status
Custodial History
Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Custodians(s)